exterior of Dickson Hall
News and Announcements

CHSS Dean’s Recognition Awards 2024

Posted in: Coccia Institute, English Department, Homepage News and Events, Justice Studies, Linguistics, Psychology, Sociology, Writing Studies

Photo of people mingling

The College of Humanities and Social Sciences was pleased to celebrate and welcome this year’s award winners, their nominators and guests at a special dinner on May 1.  The annual awards acknowledge and celebrate CHSS faculty and staff for their excellence in service, teaching, and research. Award nominations are accepted from faculty, staff and students each Spring.

Congratulations to this year’s Dean’s Recognition Award winners!


The Research Award recognizes faculty members for their significant contributions to advancing knowledge within their field. Criteria typically includes quality, impact, and originality of research findings, as well as notable publications, grants, and collaborations.

2024 Winner: Daniela Peterka Benton, Associate Professor in Justice Studies


The Service Award recognizes staff members for their outstanding commitment to service within CHSS and the broader community. Criteria includes leadership in academic governance, professional service, community engagement, and contributions to diversity, equity, and inclusion initiatives.

2024 Winner: Evelyn De Jesus-Quiles, Director of Operations and Administrative Affairs, College of Humanities and Social Sciences


The Teaching Award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated excellence in pedagogy and educational impact. Criteria includes innovative teaching methods, student engagement, mentorship, and contributions to curriculum development.

2024 Winners

Laura Nicosia, Professor, English

Sangeeta Parashar, Associate Professor, Sociology

Manuel Gonzalez, Assistant Professor, Psychology

Mark Rotella, English, Special Teaching Category

Dayna Arcurio, Instructional Specialist, Writing Studies

Zachary Zerby, Adjunct, Linguistics