Workshops

Spring 2015 Career Development Workshop Calendar

We offer small group workshops that will be held in the CEHS Career Resource Room in University Hall, Suite 2154 (unless otherwise indicated). Workshops will be moved to a conference a larger room if needed.

Click here to register (if using a computer ON campus)
(MSU ID and Pin is the same as WESS)

Click here to register (if using a computer OFF campus)
(MSU ID and Pin is the same as WESS)

Resume Writing

Not only will you learn how to write and format your resume, but you will also find out how to tailor your resume to fit the internship or job you are applying for! Your resume is the first impression a potential employer will have of you. Join us and learn how to make your resume stand out! This workshop will be helpful for students who have not yet written a resume as well as those who would like to improve their existing resume. Please see the link above to register!

Tuesday January 27 10:00 am – 11:00 am  Michelli Room, University Hall 2118
Tuesday February 3 3:00 pm – 4:00 pm  Michelli Room, University Hall 2118
Thursday February 12 12:30 pm – 1:30 pm  Michelli Room, University Hall 2118
Tuesday February 17 2:30 pm – 3:30 pm  Michelli Room, University Hall 2118
Monday February 23 11:00 am – 12:00 pm  Michelli Room, University Hall 2118
Tuesday March 3 3:00 pm – 4:00 pm  Michelli Room, University Hall 2118
Wednesday March 4 11:00 am – 12:00 pm  Michelli Room, University Hall 2118
Monday March 16 10:30 am – 11:30 am  Michelli Room, University Hall 2118
Tuesday March 24 1:30 pm – 2:30 pm  Michelli Room, University Hall 2118
Thursday April 1 12:30 pm – 1:30 pm  Michelli Room, University Hall 2118
Thursday April 9 12:30 pm – 1:30 pm  Michelli Room, University Hall 2118
Tuesday April 14 3:00 pm – 4:00 pm  Michelli Room, University Hall 2118
Monday April 20 11:30 am – 12:30 pm  Michelli Room, University Hall 2118
Thursday April 23 10:00 am – 11:00 am  Michelli Room, University Hall 2118
Tuesday April 28 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm  Michelli Room, University Hall 2118
Wednesday April 29 11:30 am – 12:30 pm  Michelli Room, University Hall 2118

Interviewing Skills

Whether you are new to the interview process or just want to brush up on your skills, this workshop is for you! During this interactive workshop, we will discuss how to prepare for an interview and what to expect once you are there. The most commonly asked interview questions will be discussed and participants will learn how to respond to behavioral interview questions using the STAR technique. Please see the link above to register!

Thursday January 15 10:00 am – 11:00 am
Tuesday February 3 11:30 am – 12:30 pm
Wednesday February 25 11:30 pm – 12:30 pm
Monday March 2 11:00 am – 12:00 pm
Thursday March 19 10:30 am – 11:30 am
Wednesday April 8 11:30 am – 12:30 pm
Monday April 27 12:30 pm – 1:30 pm

Job Search Strategies

There is a lot more to conducting a thorough job search than looking through job postings. Learn the key steps in the job search process. Discover the importance of a job search plan, essential job search tools and strategies, and how to make the process more positive and manageable. Please see the link above to register!

Wednesday January 28 11:00 am – 12:00 am
Monday February 23 12:00 pm – 1:00 pm
Monday March 23 12:30 pm – 1:30 pm
Thursday April 23 11:30 am – 12:30 pm

Workshops are open to all majors within the College of Education and Human Services.
Students are encouraged to come with questions!

Workshop schedule may change depending upon room availability and student interest. Workshops are added throughout the semester if needed. Check the registration link above for added workshops.