Workshops

Spring 2017 Career Development Workshop Calendar

Small group workshops will be held in CEHS Career Services, located in University Hall, Suite 3119 (unless otherwise indicated).

Registration: Walk-ins are accepted so long as space is available. Don't risk missing out - we strongly encourage you to register ahead of time.

Resume Writing

Your resume is the first impression a potential employer will have of you. Join us and learn how to make your resume stand out! Our workshop will teach you how to write and format your resume, tailoring it to fit the internship or job you are applying for. This workshop is helpful whether you are looking to write your first resume or want to improve your existing one. Please see the link above to register.

Wednesday January 25 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Thursday February 2 11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Thursday February 9 10:00 am - 11:00 am
Tuesday February 14 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Tuesday February 23 11:00 am - 2:00 pm
Thursday March 2 2:00 am - 3:00 pm
Monday March 20 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Tuesday March 28 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Thursday April 6 11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Wednesday April 19 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm
Tuesday April 25 11:00 am - 12:00 pm

Interviewing Skills

Whether you are new to the interview process or just want to brush up on your skills, this workshop is for you! During this interactive workshop, we will discuss how to prepare for an interview and what to expect once you are there. We also cover some of the most commonly asked interview questions, and participants will learn how to respond to behavioral interview questions using the STAR technique. Please see the link above to register.

Wednesday January 30 11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Wednesday Febraury 15 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Wednesday March 1 10:00 am - 11:00 am
Tuesday March 14 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Thursday March 30 11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Monday April 10 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Thursday April 27 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Job Search Strategies

There is a lot more to conducting a thorough job search than looking through job postings. Learn the key steps in the job search process. Discover the importance of a job search plan, essential job search tools and strategies, and how to make the process more positive and manageable. Please see the link above to register.

Tuesday February 7 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Tuesday April 25 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm

 

Using LinkedIn & Social Media to Connect with the World

 

CEHS Career Services and the ADP Center of Learning Technologies have teamed up to help you sort the digital good from the virtual bad. Come discover the power of LinkedIn, the essential tool in your professional toolbox. Learn how to create your profile step-by-step, effective online network and job search strategies, and how to start making your social media presence work for you. 

 

Thursday February 16 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Due to high demand, our workshop will be held in ADP Center UN 1145
Complimentary headshots offered to all who attend!


Career Round Table Series: Discovery & Destination

It's All About the Journey! Planning your future can be scary. Trust us, we've been there. No matter where you're at on your career path, we're here for you. That's why the career and academic advisors in the Student Success Center have teamed up to bring you an all new round table series. Come to the one that best fits you, or sign up for all three! For more information about specific topics, please see our events page or Hawksync.

Thursday February 2 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Thursday March 16 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm
Thursday April 13 11:00 am - 12:00 pm

 


Professionalism

This workshop will inform students about what it means to look & act like a professional. The workshop will cover professional wardrobe, writing, and social media presence in addition to providing some tips about best practices and tricks to being professional.

Wednesday February 22 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Monday March 27 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Wednesday April 26 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm

 


Wellness & Self-Care

This workshop will inform students about what it means to look & act like a professional. The workshop will cover professional wardrobe, writing, and social media presence in addition to providing some tips about best practices and tricks to being professional.

Wednesday February 6 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Wednesday March 22 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Wednesday April 17 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Workshops are open to all majors within the College of Education and Human Services.
Students are encouraged to come with questions!

Workshop schedule may change depending upon room availability and student interest. Workshops are added throughout the semester if needed. Check the registration link above for added workshops.

Click Here to Register