Dance, Dance Education Faculty

Department of Theatre and Dance

Full-Time Faculty

Lori Katterhenry   Lori Katterhenry, MFA
Deputy Chairperson, Dance
Professor; Coordinator, BFA Dance Program
Choreography, Repertory and Dance History
administration, Theta Alpha Phi
(973) 655-7080
katterhenrl@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Lori Katterhenry received her BFA and MFA degrees in Dance from Florida State University and earned a CMA from the Laban Institute of Movement Studies in New York City. She was the Program Coordinator for the Montclair State University Division of Dance since 1986 and has been the Deputy Chair for the Department of Theatre and Dance since 2008. She is also the Artistic Director for the MSU Repertory Dance Company. Her works have been selected for performance at numerous Regional American College Dance Festivals and at three National American College Dance Festivals in 1983, 1986 and 1990. She has been a guest artist at Rice University, University of New Mexico, Theater on Podol in Kiev, and Theatre et Mouvement Festival in Montpellier, France. Her work Undone was selected for performance in the HUMOR UNPLUCKED Festival in New York City in 1996. In June ‘97 she traveled to Australia with members of the MSU School of the Arts, MSU dance students and alumni for performances and cultural enrichment in Sydney, Melbourne and Brisbane. She choreographed and performed in the Pro Danza Italia Summer Dance Festival in Castiglioncello, Italy in 1998 and 1999. She was a member of the Board of Directors for the National Association of Schools of Dance from 2003-2009.


Kathleen Kelley
Assistant Professor
Dance
973-655-4115
kelleyka@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page


Elizabeth McPherson   Elizabeth McPherson, Ph.D.
Dance Education 
Assistant Professor; Coordinator, BA Dance Education Program
Ballet, Dance Methods, Dance for Children, Repertory
973-655-7831
mcphersone@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Dr. McPherson has written the book The Contributions of Martha Hill to American Dance and Dance Education, 1900-1995 as well as articles and reviews for various publications including Dance Teacher Magazine, Ballet-Dance Magazine, andAttitude: The Dancers Magazine. Her current research is on The Bennington School of the Dance. Dr. McPherson also enjoys staging historical dance works from Labanotation such as Donald McKayle’s Games and Yvonne Rainer’s “Chair Pillow Dance” from Continuous Project Altered Daily. Before joining the faculty of Montclair State University, she held positions at Long Island University-Brooklyn campus, Fieldston Lower of The Ethical Culture Fieldston School, The City College of New York, and New York University. Dr. McPherson holds a BFA from Juilliard, an MA from The City College of New York, and a Ph.D. from NYU. Performance credits include: Avodah Dance Ensemble, Ernesta Corvino’s Dance Circle Company and The Louis Johnson Dance Theatre.


 Linda Roberts Linda Roberts
Adjunct Professor
Choreography, Repertory, and Dance History
(973) 655-4115
robertsl@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Linda Roberts has been on the faculty of Montclair State University since 1971. In 2001, she was awarded the Alumni Association Outstanding Faculty Award. Over the years, she has developed and taught a number of courses and helped to establish degree programs for the University. She has also been active at the state level in developing teacher certification for dance. Professor Roberts currently teaches Dance History, Improvisation, Dance Appreciation, Methods and Materials for Teaching Dance and a section of the New Student Seminar course for dance majors. As a leading dancer in the DANCES/Janet Soares Company from 1971-1982 Ms. Roberts performed in several New York City venues including ChoreoConcerts at The New School for Social Research, Dance Uptown, the American Theatre Laboratory, Dance Theatre Workshop, and The Little Orchestra Society concerts at Avery Fisher Hall, Lincoln Center. Under the auspices of the DANCES/Janet Soares Company, and sponsored by Young Audiences, Ms. Roberts served as an artist in residence in New York City Schools from 1975-1980. After leaving the company, from 1987-1992, Ms.Roberts gave solo performances of reconstructed Baroque dances from the 17th and 18th centuries.


Part-Time Faculty/Adjuncts/Visiting Specialists

Laurie A Abramson
Adjunct Instructor
Ballet
973-655-7000
abramsonl@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page


Assaf Benchetrit
Adjunct Instructor
Modern Dance
973-655-7000
benchetrita@mail.montclair.edu


Rachel Brown
Adjunct Instructor
Acting, Musical Theatre, and Dance
973-655-7000
brownrac@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page


Beatrice Capote
Adjunct Instructor
Ballet, World Dance
973-655-7000
capoteb@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page


Joao Carvalho
Adjunct Instructor
Modern Dance
973-655-7000
carvalhoj@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page


Jennifer Chin
Adjunct Instructor
Modern Dance
973-655-7000
chinj@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page


Ruth A. Clark
Adjunct Instructor
Laban Movement Analysis, Rhythmic Analysis, Movement for the Actor
973-655-7000
clarkr@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page


Jessica Dimauro
Adjunct Instructor
Modern Dance
973-655-7000
dimauroj@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page


Geoffrey Doig-Marx
Clinical Specialist
Musical Theatre, Dance
973-655-7000
doigmarxg@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page


Karen Gayle
Adjunct Instructor
Modern Dance
973-655-7000
gaylek@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page


Tyler Gilstrap
Adjunct Instructor
Modern Dance
973-655-7000
gilstrapt@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page


Lisa M. Grimes
Adjunct Instructor
Modern Dance
973-655-7000
grimesl@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page


Lynne Grossman
Adjunct Instructor
Ballet
973-655-7000
grossmanl@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page


Pamela Licht
Adjunct Instructor
World Dance
973-655-7000
lichtp@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page


Karen Love
Adjunct Instructor
World Dance
973-655-7000
lovek@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page


Nancy Lushington
Half-Time Assistant Professor
Ballet
973-655-7893
lushington@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page


Lonne Moretton
Adjunct Instructor
Ballet
973-655-7000
morettonl@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page



Earl Mosley
Adjunct Instructor
Modern Dance
973-655-7000
mosleyf@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page


Jeffrey Shade
Adjunct Instructor
Musical Theatre Dance
973-655-7000


Diann Sichel
Adjunct Instructor
Modern Dance
973-655-7000
sicheld@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page


Maxine Steinman, MFA
Acting Coordinator, BFA Dance Program
Half-Time Assistant Professor

Modern Dance
973-655-7893
steinmanm@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page


Cindy (Loewus) Thole
Adjunct Instructor
Ballet
973-655-7000
loewusc@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page


Kim Whittam
Theatre Audition Coordinator
Adjunct Instructor
Ballet, Modern Dance
973-655-7201
whittamk@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page