Aerial Photo of Campus
News and Announcements

Three Educational Leadership Faculty Accepted Into The Diversity Scholars Network

Posted in: College News and Events

Dr. Blanca Elizabeth Vega, Dr. Roman Liera, and Dr. Patricia Virella, all Assistant Professors in the Department of Educational Leadership, have been accepted into the Diversity Scholars Network (DSN). The DSN is a scholarly community that operates within the National Center for Institutional Diversity (NCID) at the University of Michigan. 

The DSN seeks to foster academic, educational, and social connections and environments that facilitate the professional success of diversity scholars. The Network is committed to advancing understandings of historical and contemporary social issues related to identity, difference, culture, representation, power, oppression, and inequality as they occur and affect individuals, groups, communities, and institutions. The DSN aspires to create environments that support scholars in their sense of community and connectedness with others who share their professional values and commitments, in rich intellectual engagement and exchange, and in their personal and professional development and thriving as whole persons.

As DSN members, scholars can:

  • Engage in a scholarly community to collaborate and mobilize for social change
  • Receive support to produce their scholarship
  • Access opportunities to translate and disseminate their scholarship
  • Become part of a collective to advance diversity scholarship in the academy

The Network is a resource for:

  • Leaders to utilize scholarship and ground their decision-making process
  • Journalists to connect with experts and inform reporting on social topics
  • Academic leaders to diversify their recruitment, hiring processes, as well as a resource to retain diversity scholars
  • Scholars to identify and connect with collaborators

The DSN has 1,500+ scholars who represent more than 200 institutions across the world, comprised of tenured, tenure-track, clinical and research faculty (including lecturers), research staff, and postdoctoral fellows. Congratulations to Drs. Vega, Liera, and Virella on this achievement!