Aerial photo of Susan A. Cole Hall

Academic Policy Committee

The Academic Policy Committee regularly meets to review, update and draft policies that govern the academic life of the university.  The Committee is regularly working on many policies at the same time, sending drafts for review and approval first to the Academic Affairs Council, then for Open Comment to the community as a whole, and finally to the Provost. All academic policies can be found here.

Policy Links and Contact

Details for when Open Comment is available for the University community to review policy drafts can be found on Canvas.

To submit a recommendation for a review of a current policy or the creation of a new policy, please use the form linked here.

An archive of recently reviewed policies is being created and will be shared here when ready.

Question about academic policies? Contact the Co-Chairs at

Academic Policy Committee Members
  • Ellie Esposito, Assistant Dean, Feliciano School of Business
  • Sumi Hagiwara, Acting Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, CEEL
  • Daniel Jean, Assistant Provost for Special Programs, EOF and Academic Success
  • Scott Kight, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Instruction, CSAM
  • Francesca LaGuardia, Professor, Justice Studies
  • Julie Mazur, Assistant Provost for Academic Success and Tutoring, Student Academic Services
  • Ron Sharps, Associate Dean, College of the Arts
  • Dirk Vanderklein, Chairperson, Biology
  • Joan Valas, Director of Post-Licensure Nursing, School of Nursing
  • Laura Valente, Associate Dean, The Graduate School
  • Leslie Wilson, Associate Dean, CHSS
  • Erika Wynzel, Associate Director for Curriculum and Cataloging, Office of the Provost
  • Matthew Calvert, Director of Academic Policy, Undergraduate Education – Co-Chair
  • Arnaud Kurze, Associate Professor, Justice Studies – Co-Chair, AAC Liaison 
  • Jesica Hauser, Program Associate, University Career Services – Secretary
  • Barbara Ritola, Director of Curriculum and Articulation, Office of the Provost – Ex-Officio
  • Aylin Solu-Brandon, University Registrar, Registrar – Ex-Officio
  • Christopher Trautman, Director of Student Conduct, Dean of Students Office – Ex-Officio