Students on campus

University Holidays

University Holidays 2021 – 2022

Holiday Date
Labor Day Monday, September 6, 2021
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 25, 2021
Holiday Closing* Friday, November 26, 2021
Holiday Closing* Friday, December 24, 2021 – Friday, December 31, 2021
Martin Luther King’s Birthday Monday, January 17, 2022
President’s Day** Monday, February 21, 2022
Good Friday Friday, April 15, 2022
Memorial Day Monday, May 30, 2022
Juneteenth (3rd Friday in June) Friday, June 17, 2022
Independence Day Monday, July 4, 2022

*Holiday Closings

The Holiday Closing includes the day after Thanksgiving and, for the winter break, begins Friday, December 24, 2021 and continues through Friday, December 31, 2021.

For CWA and AFT bargaining unit employees, the four non-holiday workdays between Christmas and New Year’s 2021 (December 27, 28, 29, and 30) plus the day after Thanksgiving are covered by compensatory time credit earned for work on State holidays and use of other appropriate leave balances.

For CWA, members may earn compensatory time by working on the following holidays:

  • Columbus Day (October 11, 2021)
  • Election Day (November 2, 2021)
  • Veterans Day (November 11, 2021)

View the 2021 CWA Holiday Agreement

For AFT, members may earn AFT Holiday Time by working on one of the following holidays:

  • Columbus Day (October 11, 2021)
  • Election Day (November 2, 2021)
  • Veterans Day (November 11, 2021)
  • Martin Luther King’s Birthday (For AFT Library employees only) (January 17, 2022)
  • President’s Day ( February 21, 2022)

View the 2018 AFT Holiday Agreement.

**Presidents’ Day

University classes will be held on this holiday, as is the case with Columbus Day, Election Day, and Veterans’ Day. These are work days for all managers. Arrangements will be made to provide other essential services on these days.

Summer Work Schedules

The Summer Work Schedule will not be followed during the weeks which include Juneteenth and July 4th holidays. All personnel will follow usual work schedules during those weeks (Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.).

See the Union Contracts page for more information on work schedule agreements.